Home Automation

It is said that Home Automation started in the Home Theater! No wonder we’re big fans of Home Automation here at Projector Reviews. A number of reviews of the latest in home automation equipment have appeared on our site.

You wouldn’t know it by our name, though, so in June of 2015 we launched a companion website: www.SmarterHomeAutomation.com. Click here, to visit that site which will focus on the latest in “smart” home automation including products using Z-wave, Wifi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, and other technologies, even some old school gear. The focus of SmarterHomeAutomation.com is on reviewing smart lighting, security, appliances, controllers, thermostats and more. And we will have many information articles and videos.

Belkin Wemo Insight Smart Outlet with Energy Monitoring – Review

May 15, 2016

The Wemo Insight is an external outlet that you plug into an existing wall outlet.  Then plug your device (lamp, coffee maker, etc.) that you want to and monitor the energy usage of, or to power it on

Read More

Ecobee3 – The Smart Thermostat for Everyone – A Review

April 15, 2016

The Ecobee3 thermostat is smart, it integrates with your home automation, including SmartThings, Lutron, Amazon Echo/Alexa, and Apple HomeKit/Siri voice control

Read More

Lightify GardenSpot Mini RGB Outdoor Lighting – A Smart Home Review

February 22, 2016
Lightify GardenSpot Mini RGB Outdoor Lighting – A Smart Home Review

The coolest outdoor RGB lighting yet: The Lightify GardenSpot Mini RGB is controlled by Wifi, works with Belkin WeMo, Amazon Echo, SmartThings…

Read More

SureCall EZ 4G Cell Signal Booster Antenna Review

February 22, 2016
SureCall EZ 4G Cell Signal Booster Antenna Review

The EZ 4G indoor cell signal booster works with all carriers, five bands, great for smaller condos, apartments and houses

Read More

Zipato RGBW Smart Color Light Bulb Review – Z-Wave Compatible

February 22, 2016
Zipato RGBW Smart Color Light Bulb Review – Z-Wave Compatible

A Next Gen smart bulb – RGBW – red, green blue, and white LEDs – for better whites, brighter light

Read More

Philips Hue Personal Wireless Lighting Review

February 22, 2016
Philips Hue Personal Wireless Lighting Review

Our Hue review takes a close look at the industry’s best known smart RGB bulbs including brightness, quality of white light…

Read More

MagicLight Smart RGBW Bluetooth Light Bulb Review

February 22, 2016
MagicLight Smart RGBW Bluetooth Light Bulb Review

The MagicLight RGBW Light is an impressive Bluetooth and bright color smart bulb able to do good bright whites, and vivid colors. There’s a very capable app.

Read More

Nexia Bridge – A Z-Wave Home Automation Controller Review

February 22, 2016
Nexia Bridge – A Z-Wave Home Automation Controller Review

A Nexia Bridge controller replaced the HomeSeer controller I had been using, we found the Bridge to be capable…

Read More

Kwikset SmartCode 916 Z-Wave Front Door Lock Review

February 22, 2016
Kwikset SmartCode 916 Z-Wave Front Door Lock Review

With this review of the Kwikset SmartCode 916, we have entered the world of networkable smart door locks.

Read More

SengLED Pulse – Smart Flood LED Light with JBL Speaker – Review

April 9, 2015
SengLED Pulse – Smart Flood LED Light with JBL Speaker –  Review

The Pulse puts smart Dimmable LED lighting and JBL sound in your ceiling! Other places too!

Read More

SengLED Pulse – Smart Flood LED Light with JBL Speaker – Sound

April 9, 2015
SengLED Pulse – Smart Flood LED Light with JBL Speaker –  Sound

Pulse offers room filling sound, easy operation, but,  as expected, no serious bass.  Use one Pulse for mono, or two for stereo sound

Read More

Kwikset Kevo Deadbolt Lock Review – Bluetooth, FOB, and Key – Summary

December 4, 2014
Kwikset Kevo Deadbolt Lock Review – Bluetooth, FOB, and Key – Summary

KEVO BY KWIKSET – PAGE 2:  Installing and Configuring the Kevo lock, FOB and Keys, Cosmetics, the Kevo Experience and Summary (The Bottom Line)

Read More

Kwikset Kevo Deadbolt Lock Review – Bluetooth – No Front Door Key Needed

December 4, 2014
Kwikset Kevo Deadbolt Lock Review – Bluetooth – No Front Door Key Needed

Meet Kevo! Kevo by Kwikset is a unique security focused home automation product. It’s a Bluetooth enabled dead bolt that also can use keys and FOBs. Need a “smart” deadbolt for your front door, or any

Read More

Honeywell WiFi Smart Thermostat with Voice Control – Operation and Conclusions

August 2, 2014
Honeywell WiFi Smart Thermostat with Voice Control – Operation and Conclusions

Honeywell 9000 WiFi Smart Thermostat with Voice Control:  Menus, Software, Conclusions

Read More

Honeywell WiFi Smart Thermostat with Voice Control – Installation

August 1, 2014
Honeywell WiFi Smart Thermostat with Voice Control – Installation

Honeywell 9000 WiFi Smart Thermostat with Voice Control:  Installation First we’ll look at one came in the box, then it’s time to transition from the old thermostat to our new Honeywell Smart Thermost

Read More

Honeywell WiFi Smart Thermostat with Voice Control – Home Automation Review

July 31, 2014
Honeywell WiFi Smart Thermostat with Voice Control – Home Automation Review

This smart thermostat – aptly named the Honeywell WiFi Smart Thermostat with Voice Control, is the newest addition to our Dream Home Project. In this review, we’ll start with an overview, then look at

Read More

Home Automation Review: Belkin WeMo Switch + Motion with Wifi

April 23, 2014
Home Automation Review: Belkin WeMo  Switch + Motion with Wifi

The WeMo Switch + Motion is the 2nd Belkin device added to our Smarter Home Automation Dream Home project.  Belkin provided us with two of the WeMo Switch + Motion packages.  We’re still deciding on t

Read More

Belkin WeMo Light Switch – Smart and Simple

March 11, 2014
Belkin WeMo Light Switch – Smart and Simple

WeMo Light Switch – Easy to use, Wifi based Belkin’s WeMo Light Switch, smart by way of Wifi, is the first piece of home automation to be installed in our Dream Home “Smarter Home Automation” Project.

Read More

Smarter LED Lighting such as Philips’ Hue, Saves Money, Creates Scenes, Changes the way we use Lighting!

January 20, 2014
Smarter LED Lighting such as Philips’ Hue, Saves Money, Creates Scenes, Changes the way we use Lighting!

LED lighting is great.  RGB LED lighting is even better, and making them Smart, allows one to completely rethink how one uses  lighting in both home (and commercial) environments.  Good implementation

Read More

Home Theater: Projector, sources power up, lights dim, screen lowers…

December 30, 2013
Home Theater: Projector, sources power up, lights dim, screen lowers…

For those of us who are home theater enthusiasts, it’s the home theater itself that is most likely to be the first part of a home to get some home automation.  Solutions for motorized screens coming d

Read More

News and Comments