Home Theater and Projectors

It takes a home theater projector to make a serious home theater experience. Forget those 65″ LCDTVs!

In this blog our technical guru, Ron explores the technologies involved, shares what’s important when choosing a home theater projector, and helps you understand issues like 3D, the new Blu-ray UHD standard, 4K Projectors, and much more. If you are technical, great, if not so much Ron still makes sense.

Just remember, this two terms belong together – Home Theater and Projectors. If you aren’t clear about some of the tech, and want to know more, this blog is a great place to learn.

CEDIA EXPO 2017 – DAY 2

September 8, 2017

CEDIA EXPO 2017 – DAY 2

CEDIA Expo is the biggest US trade show for home theater and home automation and it is being held at the San Diego Convention Center. Today’s blog (for, Friday 8 September) is called by Day-2 blog sin

Read More

CEDIA EXPO 2017 -DAY 1

September 7, 2017

CEDIA EXPO 2017 -DAY 1

CEDIA Expo is the biggest US trade show for home theater and home automation and it is being held at the San Diego Convention Center. Today’s blog (Thursday, 7 September) is called my Day-1 blog since

Read More

CEDIA Expo 2017 – Day 0

September 6, 2017

CEDIA Expo 2017 – Day 0

CEDIA Expo is the biggest US trade show for home theater and automation and it is being held at the San Diego Convention Center. Late this afternoon (Pacific Time) Sony is holding a press event that i

Read More

CEDIA Expo 2017 – Preview

August 29, 2017

CEDIA Expo 2017 – Preview

This blog discusses what new home theater projectors (with a focus on 4K compatible models) we expect to see announced and perhaps demo’ed at CEDIA Expo 2017.

Read More

The State of HDR for Home Theaters

May 31, 2017

The State of HDR for Home Theaters

This blog discusses the state of High Dynamic Range (HDR) video and where I expect HDR technology to be evolving over the next year or two.

Read More

Next Generation HDMI Revealed

January 31, 2017

Next Generation HDMI Revealed

This blog discusses the current generation of HDMI standards, based on HDMI 2.0 (2.0a and 2.0b) standard and introduces the next generation of HDMI based on the just released HDMI 2.1 standard.

Read More

CEDIA Expo 2016 – Day 2

September 16, 2016

CEDIA Expo 2016 – Day 2

This blog presents more information from CEDIA Expo 2016. I’ve included information on new Epson projectors for my visit to their booth late on the first day, but too late to include in my Day 1 blog.

Read More

CEDIA Expo 2016 – Day 1

September 15, 2016

CEDIA Expo 2016 – Day 1

This report is from day 1 (Thursday, Sept. 15th) of CEDIA Expo 2016 trade show. This is the first day the manufacturer’s exhibits are open.

Read More

CEDIA Expo 2016 – Day 0

September 14, 2016

CEDIA Expo 2016 – Day 0

The annual CEDIA Expo kicked off the 2016 edition today in Dallas, Texas. The trade floor manufacturer exhibit booth don’t open until tomorrow (Thursday). Sony held a press event today.

Read More

CEDIA Expo 2016 and IFA Preview

August 9, 2016

CEDIA Expo 2016 and IFA Preview

This blog discusses what new home theater projectors (with a focus on 4K compatible models) we expect to see announced, and perhaps demo’ed, at CEDIA Expo 2016.

Read More

Ultra HD Blu-ray – Ready for Prime Time?

March 29, 2016

Ultra HD Blu-ray – Ready for Prime Time?

Ultra HD Blu-ray discs and the first player officially rolled out on March 1, 2015 (with actual availability a few days earlier in some cases). This blog takes a look at both the good and the bad for

Read More

CES 2016 – Days 2 and 3

January 6, 2016

CES 2016 – Days 2 and 3

This blog is a follow-up to my Day 1 blog (HERE) reporting on news from the 2016 Consumer Electronic Show.  While the Day 1 blog reported on announcements from press events, Day 2 (Wednesday, Jan. 6th

Read More

CES 2016 – Day 1

January 5, 2016

CES 2016 – Day 1

While the CES 2016 trade show opens on January 6th, there are press events on Jan. 4th and 5th where some information is being presented on the new products being introduced at the show. I will be upd

Read More

CES 2016 Preview

December 25, 2015

CES 2016 Preview

The 2016 International Consumer Electronics Show (CES) is set to open on January 6, 2016 in Las Vegas. As I write this Blog on Christmas day CES is less than two weeks away. While CES is not typically

Read More

UHD/4K Video Streaming Players and UHD Blu-ray Update

November 29, 2015

UHD/4K Video Streaming Players and UHD Blu-ray Update

This blog discusses three UHD/4K streaming players that are now available to consumers and also provides an update on Ultra HD Blu-ray.

Read More

CEDIA Expo 2015 – Day 2: Projectors, Screens, AV Receivers…

October 16, 2015

CEDIA Expo 2015 – Day 2:  Projectors, Screens, AV Receivers…

This blog is for Friday October 16 (i.e., Day 2) and is reporting on visits to the exhibits and talking to the manufacturer’s representatives at the 2015 CEDIA Expo that is ongoing in Dallas, Texas.

Read More

CEDIA Expo 2015 – Day 1: Sony, JVC and Epson Projectors

October 15, 2015

CEDIA Expo 2015 – Day 1:  Sony, JVC and Epson Projectors

This blog reports from my visits and discussions with projector manufacturers exhibiting new projector models at CEDIA Expo 2015 being held in Dallax, Texas. This blog will be updated a few times thro

Read More

CEDIA Expo 2015 – Day 0: Sony, Epson, DreamVision Projectors

October 14, 2015

CEDIA Expo 2015 – Day 0:  Sony, Epson, DreamVision Projectors

This first blog from “Day 0” of CEDIA Expo 2015 in Dallas, Texas provides a preview of new projectors we expect to be announced/demo’ed over the next couple of days at the trade show. I will be postin

Read More

New Home Theater Projectors – IFA and CEDIA Introductions

September 1, 2015

New Home Theater Projectors – IFA and CEDIA Introductions

The European IFA consumer electronics trade show begins Sept. 4th in Berlin, Germany.  JVC has released information on their three new X-series home theater projectors and information on the new Sony

Read More

Ultra HD Blu-ray Licensing and Anticipating New Projectors at CEDIA Expo 2015

August 6, 2015

Ultra HD Blu-ray Licensing and Anticipating New Projectors at CEDIA Expo 2015

This blog follows up on last month’s blog, where I provided some technical details of the video formats that will be supported by the upcoming Ultra High Definition Blu-ray discs. The Blu-ray Disc Ass

Read More

News and Comments