Home Theater Projectors

The home theater projectors page includes the latest projectors used for home theater and home entertainment. See below for a list of reviews of home theater projectors, and also  information pages. They are listed in order, most recent first.

Projectors for the home come in two flavors: home theater and home entertainment.
Projectors for the home come in two flavors: home theater and home entertainment.

Scroll down for the list of all of our most recent home theater projector reviews.

Most of today’s home theater projectors offer Full HD, which is 1080p resolution.   Note:  Please check out our Home Theater Projector Comparison Report which is our most comprehensive buying guide for home theater projectors.  I should point out that the Projector Report does not cover the lower cost 720p projectors which aren’t quite as sharp, but start below $500.  These days a basic 1080p – Full HD – projector can be had for less than $700!

In our pages, you’ll find links to our reviews as well as other projectors that we haven’t reviewed.  You will find  specs and usually product brochures for you to peruse .  Some of the links on this page go to other similar pages, with other lists of projectors.

Projectors for your home come in two flavors:  Home Theater and Home entertainment projectors.  That second group are projectors geared for home that tend to be very bright, to use in less than ideal rooms.  (continued below)

Typically those home entertainment projectors are also less “perfectionist”.  Some very bright projectors  have to be considered true “home theater” because they are still offering image performance to satisfy the enthusiast in many of us.  Most home entertainment projectors sell for well under $2000, and many are “entry – level”.  For those seeking high performance image quality, moving up a big step, look to spend around $2000 to $3500 or so.

We consider that range to be the market sweet spot, with the best projectors in that price range offering the most bang, for the least buck.  Spend more than that, and picture quality will continue to improve, but the best overall value for those looking for a first class picture will be the best of the $2000 – $3500 priced models.  

For our Best In Class awards, read our most recent Annual 1080p Projector Comparison Report.  And find out which home theater projectors won our top awards and why, one of them is probably the right projector for you! Popular projectors for you own home theater or cave include those from brands like SonyEpson, Viewsonic PanasonicOptoma, JVC, BenQ

Home Theater Projectors

Home Theater Projectors REVIEWS

ImageReview

Optoma UHD60 Projector Review and Comparison to UHD65

Optoma UHD60 Projector Review and Comparison to UHD65

  • Review Date: December 1, 2017
  • MSRP: $3799
  • Technology: DLP

Two Holiday Guides, Ten Great Home Projectors

Two Holiday Guides, Ten Great Home Projectors

  • Review Date: November 28, 2017
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology: 0

Epson Home Cinema 2100 and 2150 Home Entertainment Projector Review

Epson Home Cinema 2100 and 2150 Home Entertainment Projector Review

  • Review Date: November 16, 2017
  • MSRP: $899
  • Technology: 3LCD

Epson Home Cinema LS100 Laser Projector Review

Epson Home Cinema LS100 Laser Projector Review

  • Review Date: November 9, 2017
  • MSRP: $2999
  • Technology: 3LCD

Sony VPL-VW285ES 4K Home Theater Projector Review

Sony VPL-VW285ES 4K Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: October 26, 2017
  • MSRP: $4999
  • Technology: SXRD (3)

BenQ HT9050 Home Theater Projector Review

BenQ HT9050 Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: October 23, 2017
  • MSRP: $8995
  • Technology: DLP with LED light source

Sony VPL-VW885ES 4K Home Theater Laser Projector Review

Sony VPL-VW885ES 4K Home Theater Laser Projector Review

  • Review Date: September 6, 2017
  • MSRP: $24,995
  • Technology: 3 LCoS panels (SXRD)

Epson Home Cinema 660 First Look Review

Epson Home Cinema 660 First Look Review

  • Review Date: August 29, 2017
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:

Epson Home Cinema 2150 First Look Review

Epson Home Cinema 2150 First Look Review

  • Review Date: August 28, 2017
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:

Epson Home Cinema 2100 First Look Review

Epson Home Cinema 2100 First Look Review

  • Review Date: August 13, 2017
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:

Epson Home Cinema 4000 Home Theater Projector Review

Epson Home Cinema 4000 Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: July 30, 2017
  • MSRP: $2199
  • Technology: 3LCD

Sony VPL-VZ1000ES Laser, True 4K, Home Theater Projector Review

Sony VPL-VZ1000ES Laser, True 4K, Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: June 27, 2017
  • MSRP: $24,999
  • Technology: SXRD-3

Epson Pro Cinema LS10500 Laser Home Theater Projector – Review

Epson Pro Cinema LS10500 Laser Home Theater Projector – Review

  • Review Date: May 11, 2017
  • MSRP: $7999
  • Technology: 3LCD on Quartz (LCoQ)

The Astonishing Epson Pro Cinema 4040 Home Theater Projector – Review

The Astonishing Epson Pro Cinema 4040 Home Theater Projector – Review

  • Review Date: March 16, 2017
  • MSRP: $2699
  • Technology: 3LCD

Epson Home Cinema 3700 Projector Review

Epson Home Cinema 3700 Projector Review

  • Review Date: February 14, 2017
  • MSRP: $1499
  • Technology: 3LCD

Sony VPL-VW5000ES Home Theater Projector Review

Sony VPL-VW5000ES Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: January 29, 2017
  • MSRP: $60,000
  • Technology: SXRD (3)

Sony VPL-VW365ES 4K Home Theater Projector Review

Sony VPL-VW365ES 4K Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: November 26, 2016
  • MSRP: $9999
  • Technology: SXRD (3)

Check out our 2016 Holiday Projector Shopping Guides

Check out our 2016 Holiday Projector Shopping Guides

  • Review Date: November 21, 2016
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology: 0

BenQ HT6050 Home Theater Projector Review

BenQ HT6050 Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: November 15, 2016
  • MSRP: $3799
  • Technology: DLP

Sony VPL-HW45ES Home Theater Projector Review

Sony VPL-HW45ES Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: August 27, 2016
  • MSRP: $1999
  • Technology: SXRD (3)

LG MiniBeam PF1000U Projector Review

LG MiniBeam PF1000U Projector Review

  • Review Date: August 16, 2016
  • MSRP: $1,399
  • Technology: DLP

Epson Home Cinema 5040UB, Pro Cinema 6040UB Home Theater Projector Review

Epson Home Cinema 5040UB, Pro Cinema 6040UB Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: August 11, 2016
  • MSRP: $2699
  • Technology: 3LCD

ViewSonic PJD7835HD Projector Review

ViewSonic PJD7835HD Projector Review

  • Review Date: May 12, 2016
  • MSRP: $899
  • Technology: DLP

JVC DLA-RS400U Home Theater Projector Review

JVC DLA-RS400U Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: April 30, 2016
  • MSRP: $3995
  • Technology: D-ILA-3

Epson Pro Cinema 1985 W Projector Review

Epson Pro Cinema 1985 W Projector Review

  • Review Date: April 11, 2016
  • MSRP: $2499
  • Technology: 3LCD

Sony VPL-HW65ES Home Theater Projector Review

Sony VPL-HW65ES Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: March 6, 2016
  • MSRP: $3999
  • Technology: SXRD (3)

Epson Home Cinema 1040 Home Theater Projector Review

Epson Home Cinema 1040 Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: February 4, 2016
  • MSRP: $799
  • Technology: 3LCD

BenQ HT3050 Home Theater Projector Review

BenQ HT3050 Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: February 3, 2016
  • MSRP: $999
  • Technology: DLP

JVC DLA-RS600U, X950R Home Theater Projector Review

JVC DLA-RS600U, X950R Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: January 25, 2016
  • MSRP: $9995
  • Technology: D-ILA-3

Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 1440 Projector Review

Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 1440 Projector Review

  • Review Date: December 28, 2015
  • MSRP: $1699
  • Technology: 3LCD

Sony VPL-VW665ES 4K Home Theater Projector Review

Sony VPL-VW665ES 4K Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: December 18, 2015
  • MSRP: $14999
  • Technology: SXRD (3)

Check out our 2015 Holiday Projector Shopping Guides

Check out our 2015 Holiday Projector Shopping Guides

  • Review Date: November 27, 2015
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:

BenQ HT4050 Home Theater Projector Review

BenQ HT4050 Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: November 6, 2015
  • MSRP: $1399
  • Technology: DLP

Vivitek H9090 Home Theater Projector Review

Vivitek H9090 Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: October 15, 2015
  • MSRP: $9999
  • Technology: DLP

Epson Home Cinema 2040 and 2045 Projectors – A Review

Epson Home Cinema 2040 and 2045 Projectors – A Review

  • Review Date: September 16, 2015
  • MSRP: $799
  • Technology: 3LCD

Epson LS10000 vs JVC DLA-RS6710 – Two Awesome HT Projectors

Epson LS10000 vs JVC DLA-RS6710 – Two Awesome HT Projectors

  • Review Date: September 9, 2015
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:

Optoma HD37 Home Projector Review

Optoma HD37 Home Projector Review

  • Review Date: July 2, 2015
  • MSRP: $999
  • Technology: DLP

Epson Powerlite Pro Cinema G6550WU Commercial and Home Entertainment Projector – Review

Epson Powerlite Pro Cinema G6550WU Commercial and Home Entertainment Projector – Review

  • Review Date: June 12, 2015
  • MSRP: $4999
  • Technology: 3LCD

BenQ HC1200 Projector Review

BenQ HC1200 Projector Review

  • Review Date: April 27, 2015
  • MSRP: $999 ($889 street price)
  • Technology: DLP

JVC DLA-RS6710U, RS67U, X900R, 4K Home Theater Projector Review

JVC DLA-RS6710U, RS67U, X900R, 4K Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: April 22, 2015
  • MSRP: $12495
  • Technology: D-ILA

ViewSonic PJD7822HDL Home Entertainment Projector Review

ViewSonic PJD7822HDL Home Entertainment Projector Review

  • Review Date: March 19, 2015
  • MSRP: $789
  • Technology: DLP

Epson Pro-Cinema LS9600e Projector Review

Epson Pro-Cinema LS9600e Projector Review

  • Review Date: March 13, 2015
  • MSRP: $5999
  • Technology: 3LCD on Quartz (LCoQ)

Sony VPL-VW350ES Home Theater Projector Review

Sony VPL-VW350ES Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: February 17, 2015
  • MSRP: $9999
  • Technology: SXRD (3)

Epson Pro Cinema LS10000 Projector Review:  Update

Epson Pro Cinema LS10000 Projector Review: Update

  • Review Date: February 2, 2015
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:

Optoma HD161X Home Theater Projector Review

Optoma HD161X Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: January 21, 2015
  • MSRP: $1599
  • Technology: DLP

Sony VPL-VW1100ES 4K Projector – A Review

Sony VPL-VW1100ES 4K Projector – A Review

  • Review Date: November 22, 2014
  • MSRP: $27999
  • Technology: SXRD (3)

Epson Home Cinema 3500 Home Theater Projector Review

Epson Home Cinema 3500 Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: October 30, 2014
  • MSRP: $1699
  • Technology: 3LCD

BenQ HT1075 Projector Review

BenQ HT1075 Projector Review

  • Review Date: October 4, 2014
  • MSRP: $1199
  • Technology: DLP

Epson Pro Cinema LS10000 Laser Home Theater Projector – Review

Epson Pro Cinema LS10000 Laser Home Theater Projector – Review

  • Review Date: September 9, 2014
  • MSRP: $7999
  • Technology: 3LCD on Quartz (LCoQ)

LG PF85U LED Projector – Review

LG PF85U LED Projector – Review

  • Review Date: August 28, 2014
  • MSRP: $1299
  • Technology: DLP

Four Great Home Theater Projectors Compared

Four Great Home Theater Projectors Compared

  • Review Date: July 15, 2014
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:

Optoma HD91 Home Theater Projector Review

Optoma HD91 Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: June 11, 2014
  • MSRP: $3999
  • Technology: DLP

JVC DLA-RS4910, DLA-RS49, DLA-X500R Projector Review

JVC DLA-RS4910, DLA-RS49, DLA-X500R Projector Review

  • Review Date: April 14, 2014
  • MSRP: $5199
  • Technology: D-ILA

Sony VPL-HW55ES Projector vs. Epson HC5030UB Projector

Sony VPL-HW55ES Projector vs. Epson HC5030UB Projector

  • Review Date: March 29, 2014
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:

BenQ W7500 Home Theater Projector Review

BenQ W7500 Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: March 18, 2014
  • MSRP: $2799
  • Technology: DLP

Sony VPL-VW600ES 4K Home Theater Projector

Sony VPL-VW600ES 4K Home Theater Projector

  • Review Date: March 4, 2014
  • MSRP: $14999
  • Technology: LCOS 3 Panel

Epson Pro Cinema G6900 WU Home Theater Projector

Epson Pro Cinema G6900 WU Home Theater Projector

  • Review Date: February 24, 2014
  • MSRP: $7499
  • Technology: 3LCD

Epson Powerlite Pro G6900WU Business Projector Review

Epson Powerlite Pro G6900WU Business Projector Review

  • Review Date: January 20, 2014
  • MSRP: $6499
  • Technology: 3LCD

Panasonic PT-AE8000 vs. Sharp XV-Z30000

Panasonic PT-AE8000 vs. Sharp XV-Z30000

  • Review Date: December 31, 2013
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:

Acer H9500BD vs. Panasonic AR100U

Acer H9500BD vs. Panasonic AR100U

  • Review Date: December 31, 2013
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology: 0

JVC DLA-X95R and DLA-X75R vs. Sony VPL-VW95ES

JVC DLA-X95R and DLA-X75R vs. Sony VPL-VW95ES

  • Review Date: December 31, 2013
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:

Epson Home Cinema 3020 vs. Optoma HD25-LV

Epson Home Cinema 3020 vs. Optoma HD25-LV

  • Review Date: December 31, 2013
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:

Epson Home Cinema 5030 UB vs. Optoma HD8300

Epson Home Cinema 5030 UB vs. Optoma HD8300

  • Review Date: December 31, 2013
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:

Epson Home Cinema 5030 UB vs. Panasonic PT-AE8000U

Epson Home Cinema 5030 UB vs. Panasonic PT-AE8000U

  • Review Date: December 31, 2013
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:

Optoma GT760 Projector Review

Optoma GT760 Projector Review

  • Review Date: December 27, 2013
  • MSRP: $649
  • Technology: DLP

BenQ W1500 Home Projector – Review

BenQ W1500 Home Projector – Review

  • Review Date: December 25, 2013
  • MSRP: $1999
  • Technology: DLP

Epson Pro Cinema 6030UB Projector Quick Look Review

Epson Pro Cinema 6030UB Projector Quick Look Review

  • Review Date: December 16, 2013
  • MSRP: $3499
  • Technology: 3LCD

Epson Home Cinema 2000 Projector Quick Look Review

Epson Home Cinema 2000 Projector Quick Look Review

  • Review Date: December 16, 2013
  • MSRP: $899
  • Technology: 3LCD

Review:  Optoma HD131Xe Projector

Review: Optoma HD131Xe Projector

  • Review Date: December 16, 2013
  • MSRP: $799
  • Technology: DLP

Review: Sony VPL-HW55ES Home Theater Projector

Review: Sony VPL-HW55ES Home Theater Projector

  • Review Date: December 7, 2013
  • MSRP: $3999
  • Technology: LCoS

Epson Pro Cinema 4030 Projector – Review

Epson Pro Cinema 4030 Projector – Review

  • Review Date: November 12, 2013
  • MSRP: $2499
  • Technology: 3LCD

Epson Home Cinema 5030 UB Home Theater Projector Review

Epson Home Cinema 5030 UB Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: October 27, 2013
  • MSRP: $2599
  • Technology: 3LCD

Epson Home Cinema 2030 Projector Review

Epson Home Cinema 2030 Projector Review

  • Review Date: August 27, 2013
  • MSRP: $999
  • Technology: 3LCD

Viewsonic PJD7820HD Projector Review

Viewsonic PJD7820HD Projector Review

  • Review Date: August 5, 2013
  • MSRP: $699
  • Technology: DLP

Review: Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 750HD Projector

Review: Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 750HD Projector

  • Review Date: July 11, 2013
  • MSRP: $799
  • Technology: 3LCD

Optoma HD25-LV Home Theater Projector Review

Optoma HD25-LV Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: July 10, 2013
  • MSRP: $1299
  • Technology: DLP

Acer H6510BD Home Theater Projector Review

Acer H6510BD Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: July 2, 2013
  • MSRP: $799
  • Technology: DLP

BenQ W1080ST Home Theater Projector Review

BenQ W1080ST Home Theater Projector Review

  • Review Date: June 16, 2013
  • MSRP: $1299
  • Technology: DLP

JVC DLA-X35 Projector Review

JVC DLA-X35 Projector Review

  • Review Date: March 3, 2013
  • MSRP: $3499
  • Technology: D-ILA

JVC DLA-X95R Projector Review

JVC DLA-X95R Projector Review

  • Review Date: February 16, 2013
  • MSRP: $11999
  • Technology: D-ILA

Theater vs Entertainment

Remember the differences between home theater and home entertainment.

A bright home theater projector can handle a 128" screen even with lighting present.
A bright home theater projector can handle a 128″ screen even with lighting present.

A good projector to drop into a home theater, not only has color optimized for movie viewing, but also should be able to produce very dark “blacks.” Those dark blacks are the key to dark scenes looking great. However, it is important to remember that most people expect to be watching more things than just movies at home, including HDTV, sports and there are a lot of folks using projectors for gaming. What you watch, as well as your room conditions, will be a key factor in selecting your projector.

Save

Save

Price Range

Today’s projectors targeting a home theater or “cave” start at under $500 dollars for 720p resolution, and  as low as  $700 for 1080p projectors.  Just four years ago one could not buy 1080p resolution home theater projectors for much under $2000.  Note please that the least expensive home projectors are “crossover” projectors, their design based as a business portable.  Despite their “upbringing,” some of those can do an admirable job for the amount spent, but they are home entertainment.

Almost all dark room projectors are relatively modest in brightness.  It’s a trade-off for better picture quality and especially, contrast and black levels.  Most “home” projectors you will consider today offer 3000 lumens or less, with the brighter ones being capable of tackling brighter rooms, such as family rooms, living rooms or media centers.  In fact some are really geared for that, while other bright projectors may be even more at home in a dedicated theater.

Brightness has increased in the past few years to support 3D.  3D home theater projectors now include almost every new projector geared for home use.  Virtually all that have hit the market since 2012 has offered 3D.  Not all come with 3D glasses, but they are otherwise ready to go.   Active 3D for projectors is mostly a firmware thing, so not expensive to implement.

An image from the Epson Home Cinema 5030UB, a popular, low-cost LCD projector.

Click Image to Enlarge

Our Annual Report for Home Theater Enthusiasts

Each year we have had a chance to review the large majority of new home theater projectors announced at the annual CEDIA show, which is held in September or October. Most of the projectors announced at this event begin shipping between September and February.  Since the bulk of each year’s newly announced projectors are 1080p, the report focuses on these higher resolution projectors, but now also includes those new 4K projectors.

News and Comments

  • the_real_crab

    I’m not a fan of the new web design!

    Old one was much easier to navigate and get a handle on.

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      We want to make this the best site possible–let us know anything in particular you liked better before that we should bring back, or any specific improvements we could make… The more detail, the better! Shoot Art an email at [email protected]!

      • the_real_crab

        The presentation looks great but personally I find It’s just a bit clumsy for me.Too much going on. But hey…. that’s just me

        I still love reading the reviews and that’s all that matters in the end.

        • ProjectorReviews.com

          Hi “crab” Can you be more specific? For example, someone else mentioned that the thing they missed was the list at the bottom of the homepage, which had a paragraph description for each review, listing them from most recent, back over one year. We can bring that back (not on the homepage of course), but as the direct link from one of the tabs (green) area on the masthead of every page. I’ve got about 10 days to “wrap this up”, as it’s eating way too much time, cutting into getting reviews done. So, if you want to see some improved navigation, let me know what it is you want. much appreciated! -art

          • the_real_crab

            Hi Art,

            I don’t know how to put it into words. It might just feel clumsy because it’s different?? I’m sure the more I read the reviews, eventually it will become the new norm.

            One suggestion: Maybe have an option to change the font size. Small-as it appears now, medium and large.

            I love reading your reviews and have bought a few projectors based on your reviews. I have yet to be disappointed with the projectors I purchased. Thanks!

            P.S-don’t waste anymore time on the site…..get them reviews done! 😉 Looking forward to the Sony reviews…..One of them might be my new projector!

  • RDA

    I must be blind…but is there a “top ten list” somewhere on this site? I’m just looking for a general ranking and am not inclined to read every single review, just the reviews of the best of set. Thanks

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      Greetings RDA, It was right before your eyes. On the homepage below the first image player (features), is the second one. It is titled (in the green bar): Top 15 Home Theater Projectors.

      You can scroll though the 15, with those buttons on the right. (they are supposed to rotate through all the projectors, but that player isn’t working yet) (the “new site” has been up 9 days). We’re fixing bugs like that as fast as we can. Now most projectors tend to be released in Oct – January, so we’re in the middle of a lot of reviews. (I’m finishing a Sony and an Optoma this week.)

      I want to mention though, that you should check out the annual Home Theater Projector Report, which is linked to from the 2nd paragraph of this page, or from the Report tab on the masthead of every page. This annual report has a lot of competitive guidance, is organized by under $2000, $2000-$3500, and $3500+ projectors. It is our most important document for those into home theater projectors. While some Epsons, Sonys and JVC’s are being updated this fall, most of those improvements are evolutionary, so, for example last year’s HW50 Sony is close enough to the HW55 I’m reviewing (it’s replacement) to help you choose, say between that and other projectors in the same price range.

  • ResponsibleIndividual

    great reviews. some of the best of any product reviews out there.

    wondering, the epson 5030 seems to be really good, but doesn’t have the lens memory. any similar priced projector with something close in quality that would have the lens memory. watch a lot of sports in HD but would really like the ability to have a 2.39 screen for movies without manually adjusting.

    also, without a lens memory, how difficult or time consuming is it to adjust manually between the two image aspects ratios. thanks

  • Frodo

    Hi
    Thanks for your great work and generosity sharing your insights with us,
    I wonder if you could share your thoughts comparing the BenQ w1200 with the Epson Home Cinema 2030, particularly in terms of image quality and value.
    Thanks again.

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      Alfredo, Wish I could help you, but I really am unfamiliar with that Sony, or any from that family of Sonys. If a replacement program is important to you that would favor the Epson. Other than that, I would say, see if one has a particular feature you would like to use that the other lacks. Modest differences in brightness are not significant, and the same is true for claimed contrast. -art

  • Carlos

    Hello

    I would like to get the advanced calibration data for epson 3020e projector. I can’t find the susbcriber section to access this information. I’d appreciate if you can point me in the right direction. My email is [email protected] Thanks.

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      There isn’t a separate “subscriber section” per say–in fact, all you have to do is go a specific review and find the “Advanced Calibration Information” page, located after the regular Calibration Information & Settings page. Unless you are a paid subscriber, this page will appear blank (save for instructions on how to subscribe). Subscribers will see content. Just check out the review in question and select the Advanced Calibration Info page from the drop-down navigation menu at the top of each page of the review. For the 3020, it’s the #19 on the menu list.

      • Carlos

        OK Thanks, i get that, but I can’t find anywhere to become a subscriber and pay. That’s where I’m stuck.

      • Carlos

        Forget that I just found it. Thanx

  • C. Petty

    Still curious to if you are ever going to review the Vivitek H1185 HD…physically it looks quite similar to the Optoma HD161X…same price point and most specs are similar except the Vivitek puts out 2500 lumen. Would like to see a review on this projector one day.

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      Hi, C

      I hear you. Last week I emailed an upper management contact at Vivitek (one I shouldn’t have to go to) to “complain” that I haven’t been getting any follow up from them. I spoke with them at CES… but nothing since.

      My contact emailed back that they would contact me this week. My goal is to re-establish communications so that we can bring in at least one home and one biz/ed, and maybe one pocket projector within the next year.

      As always, when a manufacturer commits to sending a product, I will note that on the homepage under Coming Soon…

      So, with a little luck your wish will be granted, but you’ll have to figure that even if that’s the next one in (the timing would be good), it’s likely 7-10 weeks before you would see a finished review (although a “First look” might show up sooner.) -art

  • C. Petty

    Thanks Art for the reply. You would think that Vivitek would want their new projectors reviewed. Oh well the few times I fired it up it looked great. Current living situation prevents a permanent area dedicated for a real large screen. Hope to change that soon.

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      Hi again C.

      Of course, but then keep in mind that home oriented projectors are a relatively minor market, many of these companies have limited resources despite being part of a much larger organization. I believe the US home market is only about 200,000+ projectors a year (not counting pico projectors…). With Epson having more than 1/3, that leaves barely 12,000 projectors a month spread out over a great many companies including the likes of BenQ, Optoma, Viewsonic, Vivitek, Sony, JVC… etc. Most make lower cost projectors – so Even if one sells 1000 units a month in the US, and makes $200 on each, that’s not much gross revenue. $24 million a year. My old online projector reseller company, at peak – a small company with a single office/warehouse, did $17 million in projectors, and could barely support a staff of 25… These guys have to have marketing, sales, warehousing, support, warranty repair, advertising campaigns.
      The non-home projector market is easily 10 times the size. It’s not that companies like Vivitek or Optoma don’t want to get review units out, it’s that asia might only send them a few units to use for those purposes, etc., but more likely, it’s just them having their hands full, and all the usual industry flux, trade shows, new models, etc. -art

  • Alfredo Granados

    hey Im torn between a sony vpl-dx102 and an epson x17 powerlite, just for multimedia purposes.

  • SAURABH BAHUGUNA

    Please suggest which is better for Home theater-JVC xr 700 or Sony 500 es.

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      Hi, There are always trade-offs. The X700 will have better black levels, and I would say is the better pure 2D projector for 1080p content, but the VW500ES is a true 4K projector, and also has better 3D (and is a bit brighter). Of course here in the US, the Sony is many thousands of dollars more. I believe in 4K, because I believe in maximum immersion. That means I like a large screen and to sit close so that the image is as large as possible to my eyes. 4K let’s you sit a whole lot closer to the same sized screen – when watching 4K content, but that is coming! Budget allowing, I vote for the Sony. -art

      • SAURABH BAHUGUNA

        Thank you so much for replying.However the problem is this ,the place where i live in India the JVC dealer has a excellent demo room facility with highest quality sound systems like-Bower and Wilkins,Paradigm,Martin Logan,KEF,KLIPSCH speaker systems etc and is much more reliable and knowledgeable about Home Theater.The SONY projector dealer does not have even any proper demo room for projector demo and is mainly a bose sound system dealer.I had a excellent demo experience with the JVC projector dealer in a extremely good theater demo room with Bower and Wilkins speaker system,where as Sony dealer gave me the demo On the white wall without any sound.So obviously picture quality on good projector screen in in a theater demo room will be much much better than a demo on a white wall in a ordinary room.So in your opinion what should i do?

  • Leith Pike

    I am looking to get a projector for my living room which during the day lets a lot of day light in. What would be the best for these conditions for around the 3500 – 4000 price range. Plus what is a good screen?

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      Hi, It really depends on how much ambient light, and where that is, relative to the screen.

      The screen, though, is probably the key. I suggest you check out our video about the Epson G6550 Living Room video (https://www.projectorreviews.com/review-tv/epson-pro-cinema-g6550wu-screen-innovations-slate-room-conditions-performance-video), where we show very bright room conditions. What really allows that almost 5000 lumen projector do a respectable job is the screen. It’s a Screen Innovations Slate. Even better at handling ambient light is their Black Diamond series screens. Those screens are expensive. another good (but not as good) at handling ambient light is Stewart’s Firehawk screen. Others – High Contrast gray screens help to various degrees, especially if the ambient light is coming in from the sides.

      Our room in that video is particularly impossible during the worst times of day. That video should give you a great idea of what you can accomplish. -art

      • Leith Pike

        Thanks for that information

  • John Valentino

    Looking for a semi bright projector with high contrast levels and low lag times for gaming. The epson G series has the lumens but not the black levels for lights out dedicated hometheatre use. SInce this will often times be used for sporting events with some ambient lighting that seems to be the complicattion based on my research. Any assistance would be appreciated.

  • Riezky Poetra

    Review NEC P Series

    Give your presentations a boost in brightness with the NEC PSeries Projector, an entry level professional installation projector loaded with eco-friendly and advanced technologies. Ideal for corporate boardrooms, higher education classrooms and government training rooms, this series delivers remarkable brightness (4000 – 5000 lumens) and features built-in wall color correction, wired and optional wireless networking, closed captioning and up to 6000 hours of lamp life (in ECO Mode™). The P Series Projector touts an active lens cover, which hides content, mutes audio and lowers lamp brightness to 25%, allowing you to maximize the effectiveness of your presentations.
    Key Product Features
    Direct power on, auto power on, auto power off
    Quick power off and direct power off
    Carbon meter for visualising environmental impact
    Customized Icon Function
    Virtual remote tool
    Low power consumption
    Wall colour correction
    Zoom Ratio : 1.7 x
    Vertical Lens Shift
    DICOM Simulation
    Control Capability : Crestron RoomView
    High performance filter
    Auto eco mode and automatic control lamp power
    Ambient light sensor
    Image Express Utility Lite software, for Geometric correction and Projector control and display
    WIU (Wireless Image Utility)
    Multi monitoring function : using NaViSet Administrator 2

    Join us for more information

  • Indizine Solutions

    Hi

    Here in this post got so many reviews. It is so helpful to purchase a product itself. Thanks for sharing.

  • Paul

    Art, not sure what is up with the site, looks like there’s been some redesign but in the Home Theater projectors the most recent review showing is from March 2017 for the Epson 4040, 6 months ago. I was looking for a couple of more recent reviews that I know I’ve seen. Only 3 total for 2017 are even showing. Can’t figure out any way to get a different view to show anything else. Hope that’s that’s just a config issue or something easy.