Reviews of LED Projectors

The LED projectors category includes the latest projector technology used in ultra-portable projectors, business projectors, and digital projection. See below for a list of LED projector reviews and information pages.

LED projectors use an LED light source as opposed to a conventional lamp.
LED projectors use an LED light source as opposed to a conventional lamp.

LED projectors are becoming more and more popular. LED technology is being used in a wide range of products, including home theater projectors, business and education projectors, and even the emerging market of Pico projectors, and other mini projector systems. This has its benefits in a variety of fields, with several different uses.

While most pico and pocket projectors utilize LED light sources, when it comes to larger projectors the number one player using LED light engines is Casio.  But that’s not quite correct as they use a hybrid design with both LED and laser.

Lasers would be the other major solid state technology used, and it’s being used in some impressive, more expensive commercial projectors.

Most manufacturers of LED projectors are claiming 20,000 or more hours of life expectancy for their light engines.  That’s about 4-6 times traditional lamps in conventional projectors.

LED Projector Reviews

LED Projector Reviews REVIEWS

Image Review
Check out our 2016 Holiday Projector Shopping Guides Check out our 2016 Holiday Projector Shopping Guides
  • Review Date: November 21, 2016
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology: 0
The Optoma ML750ST LED Projector Review – Part 1 The Optoma ML750ST LED Projector Review – Part 1
  • Review Date: September 26, 2016
  • MSRP: $549
  • Technology: DLP
LG MiniBeam PF1000U Projector Review LG MiniBeam PF1000U Projector Review
  • Review Date: August 16, 2016
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology: DLP
Millennials and Projectors: Optoma ML750 LED Projector Review: Part 2 Millennials and Projectors: Optoma ML750 LED Projector Review: Part 2
  • Review Date: May 15, 2016
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology: 0
AAXA P700 HD Pocket LED Projector Review AAXA P700 HD Pocket LED Projector Review
  • Review Date: December 4, 2015
  • MSRP: $449
  • Technology: DLP
Check out our 2015 Holiday Projector Shopping Guides Check out our 2015 Holiday Projector Shopping Guides
  • Review Date: November 27, 2015
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology:
Sony MP-CL1 Pico Laser Projector Review Sony MP-CL1 Pico Laser Projector Review
  • Review Date: November 19, 2015
  • MSRP: $349
  • Technology: Laser light technology
Millennials and Projectors: The Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 730HD Millennials and Projectors: The Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 730HD
  • Review Date: November 8, 2015
  • MSRP: $649
  • Technology: 3LCD
The Optoma ML750  LED Projector – Review Part 1 The Optoma ML750 LED Projector – Review Part 1
  • Review Date: November 6, 2015
  • MSRP: $1099
  • Technology: DLP
LG Minibeam PW800 Projector Review LG Minibeam PW800 Projector Review
  • Review Date: July 26, 2015
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology: DLP
LG Minibeam PH300 Projector Review LG Minibeam PH300 Projector Review
  • Review Date: July 23, 2015
  • MSRP: N/A
  • Technology: DLP
ViewSonic PLED-W800 LED Projector Review ViewSonic PLED-W800 LED Projector Review
  • Review Date: December 12, 2014
  • MSRP: $709
  • Technology: DLP
NEC NP-L102W Projector Review NEC NP-L102W Projector Review
  • Review Date: September 5, 2014
  • MSRP: $1099
  • Technology: DLP
LG PF85U LED Projector – Review LG PF85U LED Projector – Review
  • Review Date: August 28, 2014
  • MSRP: $1299
  • Technology: DLP
Asus P2B Pocket Projector Review Asus P2B Pocket Projector Review
  • Review Date: April 3, 2014
  • MSRP: $549
  • Technology: DLP
Vivitek Qumi Q7 LED Projector – Review Vivitek Qumi Q7 LED Projector – Review
  • Review Date: March 1, 2014
  • MSRP: $999
  • Technology: DLP
Acer K335 LED Portable Projector Review Acer K335 LED Portable Projector Review
  • Review Date: February 3, 2014
  • MSRP: $699
  • Technology: DLP (1)
Canon REALiS LE-5W Projector Review Canon REALiS LE-5W Projector Review
  • Review Date: August 3, 2013
  • MSRP: $799
  • Technology: DLP
Optoma ML550 LED Projector Review Optoma ML550 LED Projector Review
  • Review Date: July 16, 2013
  • MSRP: $599
  • Technology: DLP
HB Opto HBP503D Pocket Projector Review HB Opto HBP503D Pocket Projector Review
  • Review Date: June 2, 2013
  • MSRP: $600
  • Technology: DLP
Optoma ML500 DLP Projector Review Optoma ML500 DLP Projector Review
  • Review Date: April 6, 2012
  • MSRP: $1199
  • Technology: DLP
Viewsonic PLED-W500 LED Pocket Projector Review Viewsonic PLED-W500 LED Pocket Projector Review
  • Review Date: February 1, 2012
  • MSRP: $840
  • Technology: DLP
Acer K330 LED Pocket Projector Review Acer K330 LED Pocket Projector Review
  • Review Date: January 23, 2012
  • MSRP: $419
  • Technology: DLP
Vivitek QUMI Q2 LED DLP Pocket Projector Review Vivitek QUMI Q2 LED DLP Pocket Projector Review
  • Review Date: September 8, 2011
  • MSRP: $499
  • Technology: DLP
LG HX300G Pocket Projector Review LG HX300G Pocket Projector Review
  • Review Date: October 1, 2010
  • MSRP: $799
  • Technology: DLP
LED Projector Review – Aiptek V10 PLUS Pico Projector LED Projector Review – Aiptek V10 PLUS Pico Projector
  • Review Date: July 19, 2009
  • MSRP: $349
  • Technology: LCoS
BenQ GP1 Joybee LED Projector Review BenQ GP1 Joybee LED Projector Review
  • Review Date: July 2, 2009
  • MSRP: $499
  • Technology: DLP

About LED Projectors

The life of an LED light source is seriously spectacular. Even with 40 hours of viewing per week, the average LED can run for an impressive 10-25 years, which is longer than the expected life of the product itself! Let us put in perspective how long 25 years really is in the world of technology. In 1985, the VHS was the standard in home recording, a really huge TV was only 32 inches, CDs were new, DVDs were only a dream, and high-definition was still 15 years away. Thus, because technology changes so much, the use of the same LED projector 25 years into the future is not really practical. But theoretically, it’s possible!

First picture from the LED Optoma PK301 pico projector.
Second, the LED Samsung SP-F10M projector in bright mode.

But back to reality. To our knowledge, all current pico projectors use a small LED light source. Pico projectors make possible integration with small devices such as smart phones, etc. They can boast an absurdly long life of up to 20,000 hours.

In the home theater space, LED light sources are emerging, typically in higher-end 3-chip DLP projectors. As of the 2010-2011 season, all home theater projectors using LED light sources are over $10,000. LEDs are somwhat limited in brightness, however, which might explain why we haven’t seen more in the lower price ranges.

In the business sector, LED light sources are beginning to rival conventional lamps. However, despite these developments, we can’t guarantee that LED light sources will replace all conventional lamps, especially if you consider that we are now seeing some business projectors sporting lamps with lives as long as 5,000-6,000 hours.

LED light sources may come into the main home theater market a little behind their acceptance in the business education market. For example, the Samsung SP-F10M at $1,299 is an excellent example of LED light sources going into lower cost projectors.

Another example is Casio’s LED hybrid projectors, which use both LED and laser technology. Both the LED Samsung and the hybrid Casio projectors have the same kind of extremely long life ratings, and both run around $800-$1,500 dollars.

The Future of LED Light Sources

We should keep in mind that the business sector is more than 10x the size of the home theater world. As a result, as it comes to economies of scale, LED light sources are quickly becoming valid propositions in business and education, whereas they are still very expensive in home theater space (due to low numbers and high development costs).

With developments in LED technology, LED popularity and widespread usage is anticipated to rise. It is expected that, in the business/education world, LED light sources will become dominant over conventional lamps over the next few years (2011-2012). Furthermore, LED home theater projectors should soon become available at lower prices.

News and Comments

  • egsiabavai123

    I finally had the opportunity to measure the on/off contrast ratios of two different LED projectors (LG pa75u, Aaxa p300) that claimed 15,000:1 and 2000:1 CR, respectively. They both measured right around 1000:1 with the LG actually showing a little worse. The tests were performed multiple times in a pitch-black room on a matte-white, small screen. Neither projector has a dynamic iris. I’m not sure how something so simple as measuring blackest and whitest on a fixed iris can be skewed and inflated X10, but it’s really disheartening.

    I love that this site takes its own independent brightness measurements, and I would love for it to add contrast ratios as well.

    • firedrake911

      Hi, and I don’t know why either. It’s another reason for not measuring, and instead making a subjective call on how projectors do at blacks. Of course were more focused on home theater projectors than pocket ones, as we are just now seeing good enough color to consider some of the pocket projectors to be serious for home entertainment. So, which projector looked better in terms of blacks, or contrast? -art

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      Hi, and I don’t know why either. It’s another reason for not measuring, and instead making a subjective call on how projectors do at blacks. Of course were more focused on home theater projectors than pocket ones, as we are just now seeing good enough color to consider some of the pocket projectors to be serious for home entertainment. So, which projector looked better in terms of blacks, or contrast? -art

      • egsiabavai123

        The Aaxa P300 has a very slight visible advantage for black level from the equally slight contrast advantage (really only noticeable side-by-side) and probably assisted by its lower brightness. The difference is small enough for them to be considered the same, but the LG PA75u looks to be almost 3X brighter than the P300(brightest mode looking equal on a 3X larger screen surface) and still a touch brighter in its impressively quiet eco mode.

        Judging by the few displays I have been able to measure and view, I know I’d be very satisfied with a native contrast ratio of around 3000:1. The sad part is, short of reviewers posting their own results I have no real way of finding such a display without the hassle of buying something, viewing and testing, and returning it to the store, repeat, until I find one suitable. If you could measure and post contrast results for just enough units (maybe its own little article) to give some rough numbers for your current verbal rating system it would be a similar enough compromise to both allow the reviews to remain exactly the same AND provide a rough number scale for anyone interested. Something as vague as a short piece with test results of a business pj (with noticeably poor CR) a budget theater model, a higher-end theater model, and a JVC RS. Something so I could get an idea of where 2000-3000:1 actually stands between good contrast and ultrahigh contrast in the individual reviews.

        • ProjectorReviews.com

          Hi Egs,

          Well, first, measuring contrast isn’t going to happen here, at least not anytime soon. We really don’t have the gear, nor can afford it, (myself and 4 contract programmers scattered over 3 states would all have to be equipped), to properly measure projectors with really high native contrast, let alone the impact of dynamic irises, which, of course, are all very different, both in range, speed and results.

          I’m not a big fan of specs to begin with. Which is better a projector with 3000:1 native contrast or one with native contrast of 1000:1 and a dynamic iris, that claims 10,000:1? Depends what you are watching, and it really depends on how the manufacturer measures contrast when an iris is involved.

          It’s a mess. The BenQ W1070 has no dynamic iris, claims a 10,000:1 native contrast, and has mediocre blacks.

          The Epson 3020, claims slightly higher contrast, but is 3LCD and has much lower native contrast, but has an iris. On the right scenes, will tend to have blacker blacks (assuming similar brightness) than the W1070, but only on the darkest of scenes. On a medium scene the BenQ’s blacks are visibly blacker. But, it’s the darkest scenes where it really makes a difference.

          The Optoma HD25-LV has killer blacks, an iris, and a contrast claim not much higher than the other two. But has issues with an overly contrasty look, that brings out way too much image noise in faces, etc.

          For the time being we’ll keep doing our way, sharing our opinion of black level performance, and providing a few comparative images for your consideration.

          BTW, I do realize that when one focuses on under $1000 projectors dynamic irises are not common, so that – when you can compare apples to apples, there is a better argument for doing contrast measurements. -a

          • thisandthat

            Because you all include brightness measurements, you already have the tools needed to measure contrast. I realize many cheaper sensors aren’t accurate at low levels, but using a flat screen of about 1ft should make that measurement possible.

            Native on/off contrast is the number to measure. Iris ability can be inferred as a 3-5times increase for users who prefer it and ANSI contrast is often high enough to not really matter for most.

            Contrast in this way is fast to measure, one of the most important specifications to know, and I believe you do have the required tools already. I hope you reconsider.

          • ProjectorReviews.com

            Greetings Thisandthat,

            I understand your points, and yes it can be done, (if not precisely), but when the conversation includes dynamic irises or lamp dimming (Optoma Dynamic Black, etc.), I don’t see how it is more informative than a subjective analysis, which I think if far superior for sharing the viewing experience. The numbers at best would tell us what we already know in most cases. As a group 3LCD has lower native contrast than DLP, and LCoS is all over the place, depending on who the chip manufacturer is, with JVC having the best native contrast, Sony pretty good.

            But for example, when I publish the Optoma HD91 review in the next few days, it won’t really matter, the contrast number will sound great but the black level performance (overall) on dark scenes will be no match for similarly priced Sony’s JVC’s and Epsons.

            But, I’ll tell you want. I created the subscriber program to generate enough revenues so I can do a few more things. We are charging -art

          • thisandthat

            The native on/off contrast makes the biggest visible difference for low APL scenes with few highlights which is the same scene type where contrast visibly matters most. A dynamic lamp or iris can only dim these scenes uniformly to the point where it looks much the same as a projector that is simply using a dimmer light-source. By the time a projector clamps down enough to achieve decent blacks, the highlights will be noticeably dim and poor unless the native on/off CR is high enough to largely stand by its own merit without the dynamics. Native on/off IS black level when a bright PJ with good CR can be brought down with eco and a good $15 ND filter, or a dim projector is paired with a dark room and modest screen.

            Turning off dynamic settings and measuring native on/off contrast provides arguably the most useful number there is which adds to subjective analysis, not replaces it. The description can tell whether or not the number appears to stand well on its own or if it is still very entry-level AND describe the extent of usefulness of any dynamic features.

            LCD projectors have native CR ranging from 200:1 up to 5000:1 just including Epson. LCoS trends high for the few brands worth looking at around 3000/4000:1 up past 20,000:1 where it’s usually safe to simply mention that it’s a JVC and shrug. DLP rarely passes outside of the 1000:1-2000:1 range until you enter the high-end over $3000. But there are surprises that crop up and it would be nice to find them on a native English site such as yours.

            I do hope subscription numbers rise enough to keep you guys comfortable either way as I certainly enjoy the reading. If it’s simple and quick enough for you to take a rough, single measurement after the usual calibration to add a little “approximately 1500:1 NCR or 4000:1 before dynamic iris comes into play” I think it would be great to have a round number to supplement the black-level and contrast descriptions.

  • Robert

    I have a choice to make. Well, recommend and not sure of the direction to point the school in selecting to use either a projector or an LED 6 pixel/pitch display that is 10 feet wide by 6-1/2 feet high. The scenario is that the classroom is about 30 feet deep and has a 16 foot ceiling height. The room is all glass and sits within a bigger glassed room area. Building overhangs and adjacent buildings suggest that direct sun rays will seldom (if ever) penetrate the room, but the day’s brightness will be there on sunny days. The led is so bright, it can work in this environment.

    The idea is modernization for a classroom to use the exciting technology of LED (note this LED type is typically used for huge outdoor signs, which are normally about 10 pixel/pitch. Displays are now available in closer placed LEDs such as the P6 (6 pixel), P5 (5 pixel) P4 (4 pixel) etc. The closer the pixels the more definition of the LED display. However the pressing need to compare the LED is that the classroom will not have curtains or any method to darken the room for a projector’s use. QUESTION 1: So the question; which projector would work in this environment is the first question?

    There are factors about the LED display usage such as the LEDs are bright and cause some worries about the first row of students being too close and having eye fatigue, or seeing the pixels themselves too easily.
    The idea is to hang the LED display higher on the wall to create a longer view distance for the students without causing neck aches. The secondary value is to not have the brightness of direct LEDs penetrating student’s eyes.

    QUESTION 2: Does anyone know of the use of this type of LED in education as a display or have any input as to the good or bad value in trying to use an LED display verses a projector?
    Thanks for all your kind input! 🙂

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      I don’t really follow LED displays, but my first thought is that you are in trouble using projectors. It’s almost certainly doable. You could be looking at a 5000 lumen projector, and a screen optimized for absorbing, not reflecting back most ambient light. Here’s a picture of a recent test On the unit there are two rectangles of different screen materials that are two of the best. That is, of course sunlight tracking across the floor. The image is with a $6500 6000 lumen projector outputting about 5500 lumens. Those screens are expensive – in an 80″ size the one is about $3000, the other $4000. Pricey, if you really want to be sure.

      Of course that’s a best guess, with no real idea of the room. You can always talk to a good dealer/integrator. You really would want someone knowledgable to take a look. There are lots of good ones in most places. (My last company did a lot of that kind of work.) Find a local one. Good luck with the project. -art

  • hi im looking for a bit of information.i have a 400 lumen projector at the minute but its not very good with hd connections its a little blurred and an read small writing i.e. fifa 14 players names at the bottom of the screen. will the led-66 be any improvement pref for gaming which involves reading ie to make substitutions as such

  • Matthew Kennedy

    Why can you not just do a demo for the contrast? I have seen videos and you can tell very easy wicth unit has the better contrasts. With lights off the one with the worst contrasts with lights out looked washed out and no where as much detail.

  • Mark

    The panel-free displays are already here and IMHO the days of LCD and plasma TV are numbered.

    The laser TV projector in comparison to 100- inch SUHD TV is cheaper, lighter, mobile and most importantly use a significantly less energy.

    Hisense Vidaa Max, a short-throw laser projector that can beam a 100-inch HD image from a distance of only 2 feet will be released later this year with the price range close to 65-inch SUHD TV.

    http://www.cnet.com/au/news/hisense-goes-big-at-ces-2015-with-100-inch-laser-cinema-tv/

  • The MSRP prices aren’t reflecting the current prices. Most real retail prices are much lower. Would it be possible for one more column in which you show the cheapest retail price (from the ones you display the in the review page). I visit this page very often for my market research purposes.

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      Hi Chinavasion,

      It would be nice to be able to do that, but we simply don’t have the resources. There are professional industry research firms that do seem to track “current prices”, but they charge thousands of dollars for the info With over 500 models, from 50+ manufacturers, and deals to dealers constantly changing along with price drops, it would probably take a full time employee just to stay on top of that.
      We review projectors so our readers have a good idea of features, capabilities, and value, but we’ll leave it to them to find the best deal. BTW the other problem is that often, the lowest advertised prices are not from authorized dealers, and in some cases, dealers advertise popular models to draw in customers with a low ball price, and then try to sell a different product, that they do have. A single manufacturer works hard to police just their own line of projectors. Perhaps this is a business for you to start? -art

      • No worries, I can understand. Thanks so much for your full explanation. You guys are doing a really good job on the reviews. I appreciate it.

        • ProjectorReviews.com

          Thanks, I appreciate the understanding. Good luck! -art

  • Rachhpal Singh Saini

    hi i just buy a mini led projecter and i try to give a power through usb and its on for couple of min and now its not on either usb cable or power cabel, please help me out i havnt use this one

    • Rachhpal Singh Saini

      please help me and give me suggestion what should i do , i smell in projector fan like a burning smell

      • ProjectorReviews.com

        Hi Rachhpal,

        It’s very hard to say what your problem is. Your best bet would be to email or call the manufacturer’s tech support. Full sized USB is usually for hooking up to a source. If a pico projector uses USB for charging, it’s probably a micro usb. Does your “power cable” plug into a standard USB receptacle? If so, and you are using your own USB receptacle, it may not allow enough current. That’s just like many USB chargers have the current to charge phones but not tablets. Good luck. -art

  • congressive

    They now sell a gobo projector with a 60 watt LED that puts out somewhere around 5000 lumens with low heat. low power and long life. When are they gonna start sticking that kind of wattage into an LED projector?

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      gobo projectors are a whole different animal. They are all about brightness. There’s no issues with contrast. With our type of projectors in order to help get great blacks, you want “high contrast, which is a trade-off against brightness. Also most projectors have zoom lenses, with a whole lot of elements, that alone can eat up far more than half the available brightness. Even a projector with a 2:1 zoom can have a 40% brightness difference simply between one end of the zoom range an another. It’s just not an apples to apples comparison. -art

  • Arnab Chakraborty

    hello. what it mean that the led lamp expectancy is 20000hrs??does it mean after operating the led 20000hrs the projector will be useless???

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      Hi, there seems to be no official standards for what the 20,000 truly means. I’ve read some manufacturers state that it means the average such projector’s light engine will last 20,000 before failure. That’s different than with bulbs, which are rated to 50% brightness. LED light engines also dim over time, but I’ve also read that they won’t dim by a full 50% by the time they reach their claimed life.

      With the lack of a clear definition I work from the attitude that the light source will fail at 20,000 hours – give or take – some no doubt will fail at 12,000 or 15,000, 20,000, 23,000 or maybe even last to 30,000+. So I treat it as an average expected life before failure.

      For all but very heavy operation such as 24/7, the general thought would be that any projector would be pretty obsolete well before there’s a failure. For example, in a school running 250 days a year, if a projector was running 4 hours a day (incredibly unlikely) that projector’s light source would last 20 years. For perspective, 20 years ago, the first projectors were hitting the market. The brightest produced less than 200 lumens, and most had low cost lamps that lasted 50 hours, the few with early UHP (typical lamps in projectors today) lamps claimed 500 hours max. The highest resolution back then was 640×480. BTW HDTV was still 4-5 years away.

      Your question is, based on either definition – 20,000 hours to average failure, or to half brightness, does it make sense to you. You can figure on this, if your LED projector lasts roughly 20 years, it not only will be truly obsolete, but replacement parts will be impossible to find. -art

      • Arnab Chakraborty

        ok thanks for the valuable reply brother. But pls tell me are the faulty or life expectancy over ledlamps can be replaced (at present) ??

        • ProjectorReviews.com

          Technically, yes. The problem is cost. Once out of warranty I figure replacing an LED light engine could cost anything from under $1000 to many. It’s going to vary by company and model. It still goes back to obsolesence, unless you have a very high level of usage. If you do, then the cost of repair replace the led engine is an unknown. Consider the price of say a 3000 lumen LED projector, and then look forward a decade, most likely something a lot better for half or less of the price, perhaps a lot less. -art

          • Arnab Chakraborty

            ok thanks for the suggestion brother

  • nordlyst

    We’re now writing 2016 and still none of the major manufactorers have much to offer in terms of LED-based products for HT usage. Does anyone know why?

    I’m not particularly knowledgable about projector design, but it would seem to me that LED has several very significant advantages over other light sources.

    Lifetime is obviously a big one, but from a manufacturer’s point of view it could be argued that is a drawback rather than a plus – as long as competitors aren’t offering anything better and consumers largely ignore lamp replacement costs (as seems to be the case – BenQ at least are getting loads of recommendations over at the WireCutter despite their projectors allegedly being only very marginally better than Epson’s, while their lamps are 2.5-3 times as expensive to replace).

    But lifetime isn’t all there is to it. LED is also much more efficient. Which means that for a given brightness, it runs a lot cooler. Which means a much quieter projector. To my mind, this is as big an advantage as the lamp life!

    And there’s more. Unlike traditional bulbs, LED lights don’t go dimmer, nor change their spectrum much, as they age. That should translate to far better color accuracy and better brightness in the long run. As far as I’ve understood, LEDs can also eliminate the need for a color wheel (in DLP designs), which would address yet another achilles heel of many products in the current crop of HT projectors.

    So what is the hold-up? While I’m sure LED projectors will require some new engineering all the really high-tech stuff (like the DLP chip) can be had from third parties like TI, so one shouldn’t think you’d need a huge team of world class projector design experts to come up with something good enough to be competitive. For someone like Epson or BenQ – big companies that probably can’t do light and agile projects on small budgets, and that would hurt their own projector bulb business by introducing LED before they need to – it’s perhaps understandable, but aren’t there any smaller players who see a chance here to grab big chunks of market share?

    I’d love to get some feedback on whether my understanding of the technical advantages of LED is wrong or incomplete in some important way, or if you have any other theories that might explain why nothing’s happening (except in the pico projector market, which happens to be of little interest to me).

  • dhectorg

    Well, here we are in 2016 and I still don’t see many home theater LED DLP options. It seems peculiar to me, since LED technology should be less expensive to implement than standard light source. It doesn’t make sense that it’s taking so long for LEDs to filter down to the affordable home market.

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      Hi, you are correct, right now LED light engines in the low price ranges soon to be restricted to Geico and pocket projectors. Technically they could be home theater projectors, but they are billed for low-cost small size, and lightweight. That is starting to change, for example LG now has some LED projectors that onto 80 P, right around or above oneThousand dollars. But so far the picture quality of such devices while very good, isn’t too serious on theaters. Once you get over $3000 for projectors, for the home, unit sales are ridiculously low, those LED light engines are still expensive. Like most technology changes for longer than we expect, when you’re not looking huge mass market products. Look for an LED light engine optimal projector to start shipping in the next few months. It is using the new DOB four megapixel Chip, halfway between 1080 P and true 4K. They will have a lamp version and then LED version, with, I think a $1500-$2000 difference, the prices are not set. I am hoping for $6000 on the led version -art

  • Piyush Agarwal

    Hey! I am looking for a PROJECTOR FULL HD,WIRELESS,20000 HRS LAMP LIFE , SONY/EPSON. Please anyone can suggest me .

  • Joe

    Hello, Does the LED projector require a special lens as the Lamp projectors? I currently have a projector mounted 50 feet away from my screen and it requires a special lens to display properly on my projection screen, which is about 12 x 12 foot screen..

    • ProjectorReviews.com

      LED projectors are similar to lamp projectors when it comes to lenses and distances, which typically means to fill a 100” diagonal screen most can only be as far away as 10 to 15 feet. Your screen is larger, but not so much that I would expect to find anything that would work from 50 feet. And it’s unlikely that you’ll find an LED projector with optional lenses. Big bucks laser projectors will have optional lenses, but you are looking upward of $6000 for any I can think of that would take optional lenses. -art